These are the standing committees as designated in the WVASN By-Laws. These chairpersons are appointed yearly by the WVASN President. Each chairperson must be an association member in good standing and must have been a member for a minimum of two years. Anyone who is interested in serving on a Committee should contact the Committee chairperson.

Government Relations

Monitors health policies and laws and advocates for school health and school nursing while keeping members informed.

Brenda Isaac, RN – Co-Chairperson

Kanawha County

Shawna Hedrick – Co-Chairperson

Monongalia County


Maintain and increase membership in WVASN and NASN and keeps accurate list of current members in the associations.

Crystal Foley – Chairperson

Cabell County

Judy McCune

Berkeley County

Diana Simmons

Taylor County


Works closely with Convention Chairperson to plan for meetings and speakers.

Mindy Liller – Chairperson

Mineral County

Continuing Education

Coordinates with various colleges/universities for graduate credit hours as a WVASN educational offerings. Provides CEU certificates to participants of WVASN educational offerings.

Jenny Lilly – Chairperson

Mercer County

Lori Haapala

Kanawha County

Grants, Awards and Research

Promotes research, develops the procedure to select the School Nurse of the Year; reviews and awards grants for further education.

Amanda Ashley – Chairperson

Raleigh County


Maintains financial records, account payable and receivable; Prepares and maintains yearly budget.

Amy Carlstrom – Chairperson

Monongalia County

Strategic Plan

Develops, monitors and revises the WVASN five year Strategic Plan and monitor its progress.

Samantha Knapp

Mason County

Jenny Lilly

Mercer County


Works closely with Program Chairperson to plan banquet, displays, registration, hospitality, awards, etc.

Samantha Knapp – Chairperson

Mason County


Submits candidates for officers and nominating committee to be considered at the annual general meeting.

Kimberly Cunningham

Harrison County

Jenny Friel

Pocahontas County


Develops position statement and briefs on critical issues as determined by the President and/or the Board of Directors.

Alicia Warden – Chairperson

Kanawha County


Assist in preparing and issuing newsletters, maintaining Association website, and promoting public awareness of WVASN activities.

Stephanie DeWees – Chairperson

Jackson County