Committees

These are the standing committees as designated in the WVASN By-Laws. These chairpersons are appointed yearly by the WVASN President. Each chairperson must be an association member in good standing and must have been a member for a minimum of two years. Anyone who is interested in serving on a Committee should contact the Committee chairperson.

Government Relations

Monitors health policies and laws and advocates for school health and school nursing while keeping members informed.

Brenda Isaac, RN – Co-Chairperson

Kanawha County
isaacrn@aol.com

Don Springer – Co-Chairperson

Kanawha County
dspringer@kana.k12.wv.us

Membership

Maintain and increase membership in WVASN and NASN and keeps accurate list of current members in the associations.

Antoinette Nottingham-Harpool – Chairperson

Wood County
antoinette.nottingham@k12.wv.us

Jan Dearth

Pleasants County
jdearth@k12.wv.us

Tresa Six

Mercer County
tresa.six@k12.wv.us

Program

Works closely with Convention Chairperson to plan for meetings and speakers.

Kristen Thompson – Chairperson

Cabell County
k.l.thompson88@icloud.com
k.l.thompson88@icloud.com

Continuing Education

Coordinates with various colleges/universities for graduate credit hours as a WVASN educational offerings. Provides CEU certificates to participants of WVASN educational offerings.

Jenny Lilly – Chairperson

Mercer County
jelilly@k12.wv.us

Lori Haapala

Kanawha County
lorihaapala@yahoo.com

Grants, Awards and Research

Promotes research, develops the procedure to select the School Nurse of the Year; reviews and awards grants for further education.

Amanda Ashley – Chairperson

Raleigh County
almeadow@k12.wv.us

Finance

Maintains financial records, account payable and receivable; Prepares and maintains yearly budget.

Carol Ward – Chairperson

Treasurer
Harrison County
carolward@aol.com

Strategic Plan

Develops, monitors and revises the WVASN five year Strategic Plan and monitor its progress.

Samantha Knapp

President
Mason County
sknapp@k12.wv.us

Jenny Lilly

Past-President
Mercer County
jelilly@k12.wv.us

Convention

Works closely with Program Chairperson to plan banquet, displays, registration, hospitality, awards, etc.

Lydia Gordon – Chairperson

Mason County
lcgordon@k12.wv.us

Nominations

Submits candidates for officers and nominating committee to be considered at the annual general meeting.

Kimberly Cunningham

Harrison County
kimberly.cunningham@k12.wv.us

Jenny Friel

Pocahontas County
jfriel@k12.wv.us

Issues

Develops position statement and briefs on critical issues as determined by the President and/or the Board of Directors.

Alicia Warden – Chairperson

Kanawha County
awarden@mail.kana.k12.wv.us

Communications

Assist in preparing and issuing newsletters, maintaining Association website, and promoting public awareness of WVASN activities.

Stephanie DeWees – Chairperson

Jackson County
stephanie.dewees@boe.jack.k12.wv.us